Ryder-Cheshire Mount Gambier Homes

The Ryder-Cheshire Mount Gambier Home Foundation

Our Foundation was formed out of a desire to provide a caring, 'forever home' for people living with a disability in the community.

As with all Ryder-Cheshire homes our guiding philosophy is the relief of suffering without discrimination.

What we've achieved so far

Two homes have been built: Ryder and Cheshire.

Each accommodates five residents.

The Mount Gambier homes' names honour the co-founders of the Ryder-Cheshire Foundation.

Our homes are leased to ParaQuadSA and managed by their service provider HomeCare+.

Discussions have commenced for a possible third complex.



Looking to the future

November 2022

The financial strength of the Ryder-Cheshire Mount Gambier Home Foundation continues to grow as the board looks to future developments.

“It has become clear to the board that we need to have some documentation in place that we can present to potential land donors, benefactors and or sponsors be they private or government,” said newly re-elected President Matthew Dixon in his 2022 Annual Report.

“We have engaged the services of (Adelaide-based company) City Collective to produce a pitch document.

“This will be used in discussions with both local and state governments and others in relation to future development opportunities.

“I am very hopeful that we will have something more concrete to report in the next 12 months,” he said.

Mr Dixon, who has been President since 2018, again congratulated Treasurer and Vice-President Dr Jerry Leech on being awarded an AM in the 2022 Queen’s Birthday Honours and noted with sadness the passing of Kevin ‘KC’ Clayfield.

“Kevin was the first resident of our second home. He always had a happy cheeky smile and really did love his time in Cheshire,” he said.

“He will be dearly missed by his family, fellow residents and the staff at Cheshire.”

The AGM also returned board members Jerry Leech, Mary Heysen, Greg Clayfield, Di Little and Stuart Stansfield for two-year terms.

Other board members are Neville Gilbertson OAM, Peter Telford, Sue Roberts and Secretary Bernadette Douglas.

Image of 1 person, beard and glasses
President Matthew Dixon

'Can do' attitude made homes a reality

"We sort of pinch ourselves that we achieved it against all the odds. It was a gap in the accommodation. It was very time consuming but the end result has been excellent" - parents discussing the early stages of the project.

Ryder-Cheshire Mount Gambier Homes. Photo Ockert Le Roux